Koehandle

This morning Corrine and Euan went out to rock climb at one of their old spots while Henry and I wandered through some murky weather to get coffee.  He was still not feeling well so we opted for a short walk but I was excited about the hazy mist that settled everywhere—I’m looking forward to a little more of that once we are back in Seattle.

We had to return our bikes at 12:30 so Henry, never wanting to miss an opportunity for a good bike ride, toodled around until it was time for me to hop back on and ride back with him.

IMG_3222

The four of us met at the bike shop, returned our bikes and set off to find a cafe that wasn’t too crowded—not an easy feat for a Sunday afternoon.  But we found a place, settled in with warm cups and Euan introduced us all to the game Koehandle.  I’m currently trying to find a store here where I can purchase it, but if anyone knows how / wants to get a hold of it for Henry and me…we’d be pretty grateful.

IMG_3225IMG_3224

We ate and I had the most amazing sandwich that had cheese, eggplant, zucchini and thin slices of grilled sweet potato…I can’t wait to be back in a kitchen where I can try to recreate it!

The weather hadn’t let up but we all decided to take a nice long wander through the park before packing up our things and loading up the car to drive back to Brussels.  We played a few car games before I fell asleep.  Once back home, our hosts cooked up some delicious mushroom burgers and we ate every last bite in almost complete silence.  Tea time, quickly followed by total exhaustion.

**I forgot that we also stopped by Henri Willig Kaas for an Amsterdam cheese tasting.  Pretty phenomenal…

IMG_3239

Leave a Reply

